June 6, 2013

  • Wow.  It’s an indication of how often I visit this site that it took me a few minutes just to figure out how to post. 

    While Xanga itself is probably not going to shut down, this is the end of the site as it is.  To this day I still keep in touch with some of the people I met here and, really, it was such a fun place for my friends to be before friendster, myspace, facebook and the like.  Xanga truly was the stepping stone and really the first place you could build a relationship with other people through content.  I still consider ‘eprops’ the first like/+1.

    I’ve been reading old entries and their comments and I realized something that I never noticed or believed when I was here: there were people who really did read the things that I wrote, and really did care, and really gave me support.  I was crappy at reciprocating and very under-appreciative towards my readership.  I also wish that there had been a ‘reply’ function on here when I was around. 

    So, belated as it is, thank you so much to everyone who has ever come here and read anything I wrote and an even greater thank you to those of you who subscribed and commented.  I rarely responded properly, but I did read every comment and they really kept me  afloat in a very turbulent time in my life.  I’ve moved on, but this site will always hold a little place in my heart as a very public snapshot of my college self.

Comments (8)

  • @CaKaLusa - It really is.

  • Peaces…to the old days! cheers!

  • I haven’t got a clue what the Is has in mind… I seldom even open the emails from the subscription digest, yet here I am I could never understand why anyone would want to delete their account even if you never use it- it is such a great snapshot of time.

  • @pamilvr - Yeah, it’s going to be sad when i can’t just come back here and reminisce about my youth haha@ghaleon - Cheers!

  • It really was the good old days of sharing my ideas and hearing from others. I did read what you wrote on the subscription, and commented regulary, at least 2004-9. Good luck with everything,KevinHope they let us keep our old posts?

  • you are one of the first Xangas that I had subscribed to. You don’t blog anymore? I really enjoyed reading your posts, especially the feisty ones ;)

  • Came back yesterday and was reminded of my horrible self of 8 years ago. And this name. Seems I had more fun back then though… I really need to work on that.It also seems I deleted my more serious Xanga account… the Xanga time machine only goes so far for me. Hope this account isn’t forced into the same fate… I plan on coming here in another 8 years.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *