Month: March 2009

  • Endless downward spiral

    Nothing does me in quite as well as being sick. Being sick makes me lose energy and become unable to work. Which causes me to feel massive amounts of guilt and pressure. Which for some strange reason causes me to make a mess out of my house and home. Which then makes me really tired. Which then makes me want to do nothing. Which then leads to even more guilt and pressure. Which then makes me leave things even messier… And the cycle continues.

    I went to bed last night with the resolve to go to work regardless of how crappy I felt, since I’ve missed work since last Thursday and the only thing that helps me get out of my rut is generally to resume daily activities. I woke up this morning with an eye infection. Really, God? Really?

    The perfect red cherry to sit atop my giant banana split-esque mountain of laundry, dirty dishes, bodily meltdowns and mental woes.

    I write this on my laptop at work as I’m quarantined away to the conference room at work. Coughing away and spreading my disease through this place. Strangely enough, though I feel like poop (and am falling asleep at the keyboard as I type), making it here makes me feel 1000x better mentally than staying at home and nursing my (viral i.e. incurable) infection.

    Proving to myself I’m not a huge loser that stays at home and reads manga all day motivates me.

    What do you do when you’re stuck in a rut?

  • The book of waluigi

    Where’s waluigi? He’s hidden himself so well.

  • Is it morally wrong to like boy bands when you’re married?

    If you know me at all, I am a person with many guilty pleasures. From the super nerdy things like MMOs and MTG, to brainless things like the Girls Next Door and Sex and the City, I love them all. However, one secret hobby that I really am slightly ashamed of and rarely ever talk about is… Japanese boy bands.

    As of late I’ve been mooning over a certain actor, who has appeared in several of the j-dramas that I watch. Incidentally, he also belongs to the boy band, Arashi, which does the theme songs for said j-dramas.

    Needless to say, this has lead to some late-night guilt-filled sessions of watching things like this:

    And it has also lead to my i-pod being taken over by these pretty boys and their (admittedly sub-par) singing.


    The problem

    Ok, so enough of me explaining the background. Here’s the problem I’m having with this whole situation: I’m beginning to feel like it’s really weird or morally wrong for me to enjoy boy bands at my age (even though all these stars around the same age as me). Couple this with the fact that I’m married, I’m starting to think that perhaps I’m doing something really perverse.

    On one hand, I know that there are a few actresses and singers that Brent really likes and I really don’t have any problem with that — it seems pretty normal. On the other hand, I can’t help but feel that married ladies aren’t supposed to really look at other guys like that. It’s a weird dichotomy for me, especially since I’m a huge believer in equality between a man and a woman.

    So I think I really need some outsider’s opinions on this.

    Is it morally wrong to be an avid fan of an actor or boy band member once you’re married?

  • Yeah, you know me!

    I got this in an e-mail, but I thought I’d post it here instead. If you do this, please leave a link in the comments! I’d love to read it.

    Welcome to the 2009 edition of Getting to Know Your Friends. Press Forward then change all the answers so they apply to you and then send this to your friends including the person who sent it to you. The theory is that you will learn a lot of little things about your friends that you might not have known.

    1. What time did you get up this morning?
    7am.While that may sound early some, you might like to know that I went to bed at 7:30pm.

    2. Diamonds or pearls?
    Pearls

    3. What was the last film you saw at the cinema?
    Street Fighter: Legend of Chun-Li -SUPER AWESOME!!!!
    robin-shou-as-gen-street-fighter-the-legend-of-chun-li-movie-image

    4. What is your favorite TV show?
    Currently: Kuroshitsuji. I find myself eagerly awaiting it every week! I don’t even know why I like it so much.
    Kuroshitsuji 01

    5. What did you have for breakfast this morning?
    Water

    6. What is your middle name?
    Quoc

    7. What food do you dislike?
    Cooked carrots! Yucky yucky yucky yucky.

    8. What is your favorite CD at moment?
    I’m really digging the Sailor Moon Best Song Collection right now.
    sailormoon-3

    9. What kind of car do you drive?
    Acura Integra. Wait, I correct myself, Kimtegra.

    10. Favorite sandwich?
    Tomato mayo [kewpie].

    11. What characteristic do you despise?
    People who are holding cooked carrots. Or carrot cake. Ew. Or people who cook carrots. Just say NO to cooked carrots!

    12. Favorite item of clothing?
    Bloomers. Or my Kimono.

    13. If you could go anywhere in the world on vacation, where would you go?
    Japan

    14. Favorite brand of clothing?
    Baby the stars shine bright, Tokidoki, Steve Madden.

    15. Where would you retire to?
    Irvine

    16. What was your most recent memorable birthday?
    Do you want my most recent or most memorable?

    Theyea I got this from Eric:

    The year I got this from Brent:

    17. Favorite sport to watch?
    Gymnastics

    18. Furthest place you are sending this?
    THE WORLD

    19. Person you expect to send it back first?
    Brent. He fills in everything.

    20. When is your birthday?
    March 16

    21. Are you a morning person or a night person?
    Neither. I wish I could sleep all the time.

    22. What is your shoe size?
    6
    23. Pets?
    I have a waluigi and a sabakku right now.

    24. Any new and exciting news you’d like to share with us?
    I’m bleeding!

    25. What did you want to be when you were little?
    Super rich.

    26. How are you today?
    Meh.

    27. What is your favorite candy?
    Chupa chups. Because hey have a plastic handle.

    28. What is your favorite flower?
    Sakura. (Cherry blossoms)
    sakura

    29. What is a day on the calendar you are looking forward to?
    Any day that doesn’t involve going to work.

    30. What is you favorite pastime?
    Preparing for Anime Expo and browsing the interwebs and the ‘nets.

    31. What are you listening to right now?
    3 computers 6 monitors and a server.

    32. What was the last thing you ate?
    McDonalds chicken sandwich.

    33. Do you wish on stars?
    Stars wish on me.

    34. If you were a crayon, what color would you be?
    White. It seems to be the least used, considering you can’t see it, so I would have the longest life span. TAKE THAT BLACK!

    35. How is the weather right now?
    Lovely. I wish I were outside.

    36. The first person you spoke to on the phone today?
    Brent.

    37. Favorite soft drink?
    CoCo Rico

    38. Favorite restaurant?
    Musashi, Five Crowns, Maestro’s.
    Hm. I just realized these are all steak houses.

    39. Hair color?
    Black like the darkest of nights.

    40. What was your favorite toy as a child?
    I was happiest with a paper and pencil.

    41. Summer or winter?
    Summer.

    42. Hugs or kisses?
    Depends on who’s doing it.

    43. Chocolate or Vanilla?
    Choco.

    44. Coffee or tea?
    Tea.

    45. Do you want your friends to email you back?
    Yes.

    46. When was the last time you cried?
    I honestly can’t remember. Probably at my wedding. I was bawling like a baby.

    47. What is under your bed?
    Cutting mat, yardstick, waluigi.

    48. What did you do last night?
    Wii Fit, went to at 7

    49. What are you afraid of?
    Cockroaches. Bugs.

    50. Salty or sweet?
    Salty. Especially flaming hot cheetos.

    51. How many keys on your key ring?
    I will answer with a joke:
    What do you get when an elephant has sex with a rhino? Ellephino!

    52. How many years at your current job?
    2 months at my current workplace. My 12th year doing the same job.

    53. Favorite day of the week?
    Sunday, because I get to sleep all day!

    54. How many towns have you lived in?
    8

    55. Do you make friends easily?
    Yes, but I can’t keep them. I’m horrible with correspondence.

    56. How many people will you send this to?
    THE WORLD!!!

    57. How many will respond?
    THE WORLD!!!

  • The 21 day challenge

    The other day at church the Stake President spoke to us during Sunday School. (The LDS church is split up by territories, where wards are the smallest municipalities. Stakes generally includes about 10 or so wards… So you could call it something like a district or a division.)

    Anyhow, the Stake President said that studies have shown that habits can be made or broken if they are worked on for 21 days. He then challenged us to try it ourselves and see if we couldn’t improve our lives by changing something for 21 days.


    Researched

    Although I’ve heard this before, I’ve always wondered about what the studies really were. A quick search on google afforded this answer:

    “The 21-day concept was
    first introduced by Dr. Maxwell Maltz, in a book titled,
    Psycho-Cybernetics‘”

    “Dr Maxwell Maltz wrote the bestseller Psycho-Cybernetics. Originally a Plastic Surgeon, Maltz noticed that it took 21 days for amputees to cease feeling phantom sensations in the amputated limb. From further observations he found it took 21 days to create a new habit. Since then the ’21 Day Habit Theory’ has become an accepted part of self-help
    programs.

    Brain circuits take engrams (memory traces), and produce neuroconnections and neuropathways only if they are bombarded for 21 days in a row. This means that our brain does not accept ?new? data for a change of habit unless it is repeated each day for 21 days (without missing a day).”(Link).


    My Struggles

    I’ve been struggling for quite some time with weight and health issues. Although it may be hard to believe, at one point in my life I was actually pretty slim and fit, but bad eating habits and a lack of excercise have left me hating the mirror.

    My husband and I bought a Wii Fit some time ago but after about two weeks of continuous excersise we just kind of stopped for one reason or another, and although I was definitely seeing a difference, once I stopped I couldn’t get myself to start up again.

    So, for my first 21 day experiment, I’m going to try to excercise on the Wii Fit every day for the next 21 days. I’ll be posting regular updates here, to help remind myself in the future (if I can keep this up!) of my accomplishments.

    Generally declarations aren’t really enough for me to keep to my commitments, so my husband and I devised a backup positive/negative reinforcement plan: If I miss a day in the week, I’m not allowed to go to Joann’s Fabrics for the next week. If I don’t miss a day, I get to buy myself something nice as a reward.


    Is anyone up to joining me on a 21 day quest (What about you Lent-ers?)? (If you do, link me to your blogs! I want to see your progress!)

    If you could choose a habit to pick up or drop for the next 21 days, what would you choose?